English Logo

NEOnto

The Team

Teamname: NEOnto

Members: Achim Reiz, Pascal Sommer, Christian Finn

The development of rule-based AI, also known as knowledge graphs, poses challenges for organizations: The technology is complex, there is a major shortage of skilled workers, and the AI must constantly evolve.

With objective quality management, we help developers to do the right things at the right time. This increases AI quality while reducing development costs.

Knowledge Graphs. Empirically better.

Rule-based AI, also known as knowledge graphs, combines data with meaning. This way, we can explain our world to the computer, answer complex questions, and automatically identify implicit (hidden, unspoken) knowledge. Rule-based AI is used in areas such as the Amazon product database, autonomous driving, and Industry 4.0.

However, its development poses challenges for companies: The technology is complex, there is a significant shortage of skilled workers, and the AI must constantly evolve to remain relevant.

The scientific basis for rule-based AI

Our software brings quality management for rule-based AI to the market based on objective metrics, helping developers to do the right things at the right time. Quality is improved while costs are reduced.

Our approach is scientifically sound and objective. Knowledge Graphs. Empirically better.

How did you get together as a team?

The start-up idea is closely linked to Achim's PhD. From 2019 to 2023, he researched the evaluation of knowledge graphs at the University of Rostock. He was particularly concerned with the practical application of metrics and how graphs develop over time. 

However, as no suitable software for calculating the metrics was available at the time, he created it himself. 

The result is the "NEOntometrics" software: already the most comprehensive solution for calculating Knowledge Graph metrics.

The PhD will soon come to a successful end. We are convinced that the idea is bigger than a thesis and want to develop it with NEOnto into a holistic, objective quality management system for enterprises.

What are you studying/working or what have you studied?

Christian is in the final stages of his business studies at the University of Rostock, focusing on digital business models. He also worked in the digital innovation center and has three years of experience in independent financial sales.

Pascal holds a B.Sc. in Media Technology and an M.Sc. in Computer Engineering from the TH Cologne. Before NEOnto, he worked as a full-stack developer at the start-up AutLay. 

He was responsible for frontend and backend development as well as IT infrastructure and UX design.

Achim first studied business informatics at the DHBW Mannheim and worked at IBM. He then moved to the University of Rostock, where he received a master's degree in business informatics from Rostock and the ITMO University of St. Petersburg as part of a double-degree program. 

He has been researching at the University of Rostock since 2019 and is working on his doctorate. As of Nov. 22, he has 24 publications, 14 in the field of semantic technologies.

Deutsch Logo

NEOnto

Das Team im Überblick

Teamname: NEOnto

Mitglieder: Achim Reiz, Pascal Sommer, Christian Finn

Die Entwicklung regelbasierter KI, auch bekannt als Knowledge Graphs, stellt Unternehmen vor Herausforderungen: Die Technologie ist komplex, es herrscht großer Fachkräftemangel, dazu muss sich die KI muss sich ständig weiterentwickeln.

Mit einem objektiven Qualitätsmanagement helfen wir den Entwickler*innen, die richtigen Dinge zur richtigen Zeit zu tun. Damit erhöht sich die KI-Qualität bei geringeren Entwicklungskosten.

Knowledge Graphs. Empirically better.

Regelbasierte KI, auch bekannt als Knowledge Graphs, verbindet Daten mit Bedeutung. Auf diese Weise können wir unsere Welt dem Computer erklären, komplexe Fragestellungen mit den Daten beantworten und implizites (verstecktes, unausgesprochenes) Wissen automatisch identifizieren. Regelbasierte KI findet u.a. Anwendung in der Amazon Produktdatenbank, beim autonomen Fahren oder der Industrie 4.0.

Deren Entwicklung stellt Unternehmen jedoch vor Herausforderungen: Die Technologie ist komplex, es herrscht großer Fachkräftemangel und die KI muss sich ständig weiterentwickeln, um relevant zu bleiben.

Wissenschaftlich fundiert für regelbasierte KI

Unsere Software NEOnto bringt ein Qualitätsmanagement auf der Grundlage von objektiven Messwerten für regelbasierte KI auf den Markt und hilft damit den Entwickler*innen, die richtigen Dinge zur richtigen Zeit zu tun.

Die Qualität wird verbessert, während die Kosten sinken. Unser Ansatz ist wissenschaftlich fundiert und objektiv. Knowledge Graphs. Empirically better.

Wie seid ihr auf eure Idee gekommen?

Die Startup-Idee ist eng verbunden mit der Promotion von Achim. Von 2019 bis 2023 forschte er an der Universität Rostock zu der Evaluierung von Knowledge Graphs. 

Er beschäftigte sich insbesondere mit der praxisnahen Anwendungen von Metriken und der Frage, wie sich die Graphen im zeitverlauf entwickeln. Da jedoch zu dem Zeitpunkt keine geeignete Software für die Berechnung der Messwerte vorhanden war, entwickelte er diese selbst. 

Das Ergebnis ist die Software „NEOntometrics“: schon heute die umfangreichste Lösung für das Berechnen von KG-Metriken.

Die Promotion kommt bald zu einem erfolgreichen Ende. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass die Idee größer ist als eine Promotion und wollen die Idee mit NEOnto zu einem ganzheitlichen objektiven, Qualitätsmanagement für Unternehmen weiterentwickeln.

Was studiert/arbeitet ihr bzw. was habt ihr studiert?

Christian ist in den letzten Zügen seines BWL-Studiums der Uni Rostock mit Fokus auf den Thema „digitale Geschäftsmodelle“. Weiter arbeitete er dort im digitalen Innovationszentrum und hat drei Jahre Erfahrung im selbstständigen Finanzvertrieb.

Pascal hat einen B.Sc. in Medientechnologie und einen M.Sc. in Technischer Informatik der TH Köln. Die Jahre vor NEOnto arbeitete er als Fullstack-Entwickler beim Start-Up AutLay und kümmerte sich dort neben der Frontend- und Backendentwicklung auch um die IT-Infrastruktur und das UX-Design.

Achim studierte erst dual Wirtschaftsinformatik an der DHBW Mannheim und arbeitete bei IBM. Anschließend wechselte er an die Uni Rostock, wo er im Rahmen eines Double-Degree Programms einen Wirtschaftsinformatik-Master von Rostock und der ITMO-Universität St. Petersburg erhielt. Seit 2019 forscht er an der Universität Rostock und arbeitet an seiner Promotion. Stand Nov. 22 hat er 24 Publikationen, 14 im Themenkomplex semantischer Technologien.